Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Eaglesoft Frequent Questions
Post Reply
User avatar
N400QW
Site Admin
Posts: 458
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:02 am
Location: Midwest
Contact:

Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Post by N400QW » Sat Sep 09, 2017 8:57 am

W10 Operating System is supported and Eaglesoft products are tested and work well under W10 provided users have full control of their OS.
Note: W10 Security settings in some cases may, like Third Party AV software, actually block access to your Eaglesoft/F1 legitimate purchase license.

We suggest that all Win 10 Users have a close look with full attention to the following: A user wrote:
"I had a similar issue with windows 10. Noticed Windows Problem Reporting popping up in task manger. Turned it OFF. Issue went away."
"Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Action Center\Problem Reporting Settings - Never check for solutions."
Update! Same user now reports that ALL ES Aircraft work well under Win10 when the above precautions are taken!

From the Microsoft Community

Q: Is Microsoft Security Essentials designed to replace Windows Defender?
A: No but if you are running Microsoft Security Essentials, you do not need to run Windows Defender.
Microsoft Security Essentials is designed to disable Windows Defender in order to manage the PC’s real-time protection, including anti-virus, rootkits, Trojans and spyware.

Q: Does installing Microsoft Security Essentials disable Windows Defender
A: Microsoft Security Essentials should disable Windows Defender on Vista and Windows 7 and uninstall it from XP.
In some cases, this does not happen automatically.

Q: What happens if I do not disable or uninstall Windows Defender if I am using Microsoft Security Essentials?
A: If Microsoft Security Essentials and Windows Defender are both running, your system may experience performance degradation and other problems caused by the conflict of two services providing real time protection simultaneously.

There are guides to assist W10 users available at the links below.

Avsim W10 Forums here: https://www.avsim.com/forums/forum/731-win10-os-forum/
W10 Forums here: https://forums.windowscentral.com/windo ... 1505055134
W10 and Defender: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/pro ... 01b2c425d4
W10 Troubleshooter: https://superuser.com/questions/950997/ ... ws-10-home
Best Regards,
Ronald Hamilton ASEL

Image

PauLL62
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:13 pm

Re: Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Post by PauLL62 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:31 pm

I ran into a problem with the latest Win10 update last week. I had used the regedit solution in the Superuser link in the post above about Windows 10 problems over 8 months ago, maybe longer. I am repeating the link below.

https://superuser.com/questions/950997/ ... ws-10-home

So after I had problems with the CJ1+ and the Gen 2 Citation X loading after that WIN 10 update, I was not thinking that the error reporting fix that I had already done was the problem because I had already done it. So I opened regedit and looked and the Error Reporting Disabled Dword was gone. So apparently the WIN 10 update removed it. It was causing both of the Gen 2 planes to take about 10 minutes to load and then kept doing so many pauses after initial load that it was useless. After redoing the Regedit fix again as described in that link both planes started loading again in about 20 to 30 seconds and work fine now.

So the lesson that I learned is that Windows Update can undo something that was already done and working fine. I hope that I remember that lesson.

These are the specs on my computer. Windows 10, FSX Boxed 32 bit, I7 Laptop 12 gigs memory, CH Eclipse Yoke, CH Pro Pedals.

Paul

User avatar
N400QW
Site Admin
Posts: 458
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:02 am
Location: Midwest
Contact:

Re: Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Post by N400QW » Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:21 pm

Thanks Paul, a great help to W10 users. ;)
Best Regards,
Ronald Hamilton ASEL

Image

JamesS
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 10:00 am

Re: Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Post by JamesS » Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:28 am

Turning off the security made it go thru and install. New error on the file names being the same.

James

User avatar
N400QW
Site Admin
Posts: 458
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:02 am
Location: Midwest
Contact:

Re: Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Post by N400QW » Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:27 pm

?? Please clarify.
Best Regards,
Ronald Hamilton ASEL

Image

Tyrolean
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:52 am

Re: Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Post by Tyrolean » Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:30 pm

Hello everybody - regarding Win10 I seem to have a Problem:
I purchased the CJ1+ V2 for FSX-SE....P3Dv3.
Unfortunately - though disabling Windows Defender (and no other AV-Programm running) and installing it in safe mode as Administrator into P3D v3 the CJ1+ is unflyable. It stutters every 4-5 seconds. I also disabled the Error Reporting as mentioned in the Posts above (using the Dword, not sure if there is anything else to do). But still it stutters every few seconds.

Wonder if that would be Win10-related (that why i posted it here) or because of whatever othere reason. No other Aircraft (including the ES Cirrus) has this Problem. Any hints what else I could do to make the CJ1+ v2 flyable in Win10 P3Dv3?

thanks a lot,
best regards,
Philipp

User avatar
N400QW
Site Admin
Posts: 458
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:02 am
Location: Midwest
Contact:

Re: Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Post by N400QW » Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:21 pm

Out of the office but will check on this when back in the saddle... ;)

OK, Yes it can be, and probably is W10 related.... ;)
Best Regards,
Ronald Hamilton ASEL

Image

Tyrolean
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:52 am

Re: Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Post by Tyrolean » Sat Jun 08, 2019 6:05 am

Tyrolean wrote:
Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:30 pm
Hello everybody - regarding Win10 I seem to have a Problem:
I purchased the CJ1+ V2 for FSX-SE....P3Dv3.
Unfortunately - though disabling Windows Defender (and no other AV-Programm running) and installing it in safe mode as Administrator into P3D v3 the CJ1+ is unflyable. It stutters every 4-5 seconds. I also disabled the Error Reporting as mentioned in the Posts above (using the Dword, not sure if there is anything else to do). But still it stutters every few seconds.

Wonder if that would be Win10-related (that why i posted it here) or because of whatever othere reason. No other Aircraft (including the ES Cirrus) has this Problem. Any hints what else I could do to make the CJ1+ v2 flyable in Win10 P3Dv3?

thanks a lot,
best regards,
Philipp
N400QW wrote:
Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:21 pm
Out of the office but will check on this when back in the saddle... ;)

OK, Yes it can be, and probably is W10 related.... ;)
Soo, any News on this issues? Unfortunately still no solution to the stuttering every few seconds, which makes the CJ1+ under Win10 in P3Dv3 unflyable.

User avatar
N400QW
Site Admin
Posts: 458
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:02 am
Location: Midwest
Contact:

Re: Eaglesoft and Windows 10

Post by N400QW » Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:53 pm

Can't answer except to say the CJ1+ was an FSX design which may not work well in W10 for some despite the inability to duplicate this issue on our W10 test rig.
Best Regards,
Ronald Hamilton ASEL

Image

Post Reply