CX20 Custom waypoint question...

Citation X Extreme G2 Support Forum
Post Reply
gazzareth
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:05 pm
Contact:

CX20 Custom waypoint question...

Post by gazzareth » Sun Mar 04, 2018 10:11 am

Hi,

Back to p3d after a long break and got a quick question about custom waypoints.

Once I have got the FMS set up ready for departure (initialised, flightplan done and runway selected) I can click on the first waypoint (the airport/runway) and it gives me a place & bearing for the runway - so all I need to do is enter a distance into the fms). However, when I have selected the landing runway, clicking on the destination brings up the airport identifier and adding in bearing & distance gives "Invalid Entry" when you try and make use of it.

Just wondering if there is a method for entering waypoints around the destination when there isn't a NDB / VOR there (since you can use those as a place).

Regards,

G

WarpD
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom waypoint @ destination airport question...

Post by WarpD » Sun Mar 04, 2018 10:46 am

No.
Best Regards,
Ed Wilson [WarpD]

Image

gazzareth
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom waypoint @ destination airport question...

Post by gazzareth » Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:09 pm

Cheers Ed.

G...

WarpD
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom waypoint @ destination airport question...

Post by WarpD » Wed Mar 07, 2018 12:11 pm

I'll point out it's a really old avionics system... and I don't recall that an airport was a valid standalone waypoint type... it's been many, many years since I wrote that FMS code.
Best Regards,
Ed Wilson [WarpD]

Image

gazzareth
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom waypoint @ destination airport question...

Post by gazzareth » Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:55 pm

Thanks for the info, just wanted to make sure I wasn't either searching for something that is not there, or missing the blindingly obvious.

Figured either were equally likely.

G

gazzareth
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom waypoint @ destination airport question...

Post by gazzareth » Thu Mar 08, 2018 4:26 am

Hi Ed,

Turns out:

1) You were right
2) You were wrong
3) I was missing the blindingly obvious

Just had a flight and turns out you can do it, syntax is exactly the same as what gets auto entered for takeoff, so:

ICAO.Runway/Bearing/Distance

KGYY.RW30/127/20 (I know KGYY has defined approaches, but was just testing !!)

All the best,

G

PS: New website looks great

PPS: Does this imply anything about the XLS !?!?

User avatar
N400QW
Site Admin
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:02 am
Location: Midwest
Contact:

Re: Custom waypoint @ destination airport question...

Post by N400QW » Thu Mar 08, 2018 5:36 am

Umm, you could say maybe..... ;)
Best Regards,
Ronald Hamilton ASEL

Image

samashepak
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:29 am
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Custom waypoint @ destination airport question...

Post by samashepak » Fri Mar 09, 2018 5:32 pm

gazzareth wrote:
Thu Mar 08, 2018 4:26 am
Hi Ed,
Thanks for posting that gazzareth, I have a few airports that I would like to try that at but could not figure that part out. Now I just need to remember which airports I wanted to try.
Thanks,
Sam Ashepak

gazzareth
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom waypoint @ destination airport question...

Post by gazzareth » Fri Mar 09, 2018 7:20 pm

Works a treat, just don't try and use a custom waypoint for a reference to another as that will cause a CTD.

Found that one out the hard way !

G :-(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest